Candle Lover: My Favourites

Anyone who knows me will know just how much I love candles; I dread to think how much I’ve spent on them over the years. Although I honestly feel that its money well spent, they really do transform a room and its atmosphere.

There are a number of things I consider when choosing a candle, from packaging, burn-time, scent and its fragrance strength. I’m pretty fussy when it comes to scents, just a simple, fresh scent will suit me perfectly. I’m not a lover of those super-sweet & sickly numbers although in small doses are quite cute.

As with any collections, I have my favourites which I will only burn for something SUPER special, i.e a romantic evening in or after a day of feeling seriously down in the dumps and am in need of some ‘me-time’. Here are those favourites:

Diptyque Mimosa Mini Candle:

One for the luxury candle lovers – It’s described as smelling of ‘Mimosa flowers brimming with the scent of hay and honey, dotting hills with the sea in the distance’, very deep. Diptyque candles are so popular and I had never had one and was seriously envious of anyone who did. I caved in and bought one from their more affordable mini collection, (these babies do come with a hefty price tag) and I have to say I absolutely love it. The packaging is seriously sophisticated and and is as much a design piece as it is a fragrance. The scent is simple, romantic and just the right level of sweet.

Does anyone else get headaches from sickly-sweet candles? Just me?

I’ll definitely purchase another Diptyque candle one this one is finished, I’m excited to build up a collection of my favourite scents. Although I may need to start saving some pocket money before that happens.

The White Company White Lavender Signature Candle:

I absolutely love The White Company as a brand, so understated with undeniable quality. I was bought this candle as a gift from my boyfriend, I immediately knew it was a candle as you could smell the fragrance before even unwrapping the paper! I was initially dubious when I saw the scent was White Lavender, as I’m not a massive fan of the lavender scent. However this is not lavender as I originally knew it, it’s much softer and slightly masculine with notes of lemon and basil. The burn time is amazing, I’m very sparing with it but after burning maybe once a week the wax has hardly shifted! This is my go-to candle when spending an evening with James, it’s not too floral and fluffy to put him off, but just the right amount of fragrance to keep me happy – winner!

Yankee Candle Clean Cotton: The value for money with Yankee Candles is spot on. The price you pay for a large jar will last for at least 6 months, burning it regularly (from my experience). The clean cotton scent is an old favourite of mine and was probably the first candle that really set me off into this obsession I’ve got going on at the moment. I use this as a daytime candle, usually when I’m working at home or relaxing with a magazine. It’s refreshing and subtle and makes you feel so cosy, it’s one of those fragrances that people will comment on as soon as they walk into a room. Old favourites die hard with this one.

Urban Outfitters Prosecco: I bought this as I was attracted to the scent, Prosecco will always win my heart! I love the tin that it comes in, with a delicate floral blue and white pattern surrounding it. The scent is soft – not really like Prosecco but I guess that’s a good thing, a room smelling of wine probably isn’t a good first impression. The burn time seems ok, although I haven’t had it for long. The scent isn’t as strong as the others mentioned and is much more subtle, but for the affordable price it’s certainly good for an everyday candle to use in short bursts!

That’s all folks. Are there any other brands/scents I should be trying? I’m easily tempted when it comes to candles!

Phoebe

Leave a Reply

